Orienteering for 44 years. 

You are visitor number:counter

Saltbush Orienteers is based in the city of  Whyalla which is located on the eastern side of the Eyre Peninsula in South Australia. The club was first established in 1974. Most of the maps we use are in the nearby Middleback Ranges within 30-60 minutes driving time from the city. New to orienteering:  Click here for more information about orienteering.. 

Go to Events & Location to see 2021 Programme as well as combined Saltbush & Lincoln Orienteers Programme.

Please visit the Saltbush Orienteers Facebook Page 

Log Hut Gully – EP Championships

August 14 @ 10:30 am - 1:00 pm

Courses are set in the beautiful but rugged Log Hut Gully,200 Wadella Falls Road, 10km west of Tumby Bay.

Have made courses as short as possible due to the steepness of the hills on the map.

I don’t believe courses are that difficult but the terrain will challenge you.

Signs will be from the Tumby Bay silos on Bratten Way. Head towards Cummins and turn right on to Wadella Falls Rd.

EP champ courses

Easy 1.5km M/W10 M/W12

Moderate Short 2.8km M/W14

Moderate Long 3.7km M/W Open B

Hard 2.8km W21+AS M/W75+

Hard 3.8km M/W16 M21+AS M/W45+AS M/W65

Hard 4.8km  M/W18 M/W20 M/W21 M/W35 M/W45 M/W55

The Easy and both Moderate courses will be available as recreational courses.

To register for the event or for more information email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Log hut Gully 2022

The next scheduled local event is a street-park event using the Whyalla Hills map on Sunday 28th August 2022.  The start location is at Wilson Park, McBryde Tce (see map below).

  • The start times are between 10.30 am and 1 pm and return to the start/finish by 3 pm.
  • Pre-start procedures - decide on your course (descriptions will be displayed on a notice board or a table), fill out the course entry form, if new to orienteering fill out a registration form, present the form(s) to the organiser in the orange and white orienteering van, pay any fees (casual individual $5, group $10).  Compass hire - $1. At the start time allocated collect your map and start your course.
  • Remember to put on sunscreen, take water and wear a hat and appropriate walking shoes.
  • There will be courses to suit all fitness levels.
  • Contact Greg on 0408 847 278 for any queries.

Whyalla Hills start area

Map indicating with orange/white flag the start location of Whyalla Hills event


Saltbush Orienteers gain most points at EP Relays at Casuarina Ridge and win the overall trophy

EPR 2022 B team James Laurie Adrian Watson Geoff Mills

Fastest A team - L-R James Laurie, Adrian Watson and Geoff Mills

EPR 2022 C team Bob Keil Andrew Hughes John Paterson

Fastest C team - L-R Bob Keil, Andrew Hughes and John Paterson


EPR 19 6 22 Greg Phil Austin Clem Tim Ashman winner A team LI

Saltbush President Greg Hancock congratulates fastest A team from Lincoln club, Phil Clem

Austin Clem and Tim Ashman

EPR 19 6 22 Initial competitors start

Initial mass start of Relay competitors, Casuarina Ridge 19-6-22

Casuarina Ridge 19 6 22 EP Relays Rec Course

John Hall Memorial Service Award made to Alan Holland

On the 5th December Saltbush Orienteer member Alan Holland was surprised to receive the John Hall Memorial Service Award which was conveyed firstly by Rob Tucker and then by John Lyon through a video link.  His service to the club from 1985 through his mapping of areas, producing new maps, updating and converting of older maps to colour, involvement in the administration of the club from 1986, and organisation and participation in events during this time was recognised by the club.  To quote Greg Hancock "He is and has been a very essential contributor to our club and relied upon by all course setters over many years....Alan has a great love for the sport and will continue to do whatever he can for our club in the future."

 A Holland G Hancock crp

 (L-R) Alan Holland being congratulated by Greg Hancock


Awards for the 2021 season

The AGM on 15th October 2021 was the occasion for the presentation of awards for the season.  Jason Munday received the Golden Flash - Male as the fastest orienteer.  Ray Friedrich was in second place for the Golden Flash - Male award. Adrian Watson and John Paterson were joint winners of the Orienteer of the Year - Male.  The Golden Flash - Female was Tonia Munday.  Second placed for the Golden Flash was Mel Bergmann.  The Orienteer of the Year - Female was Silvia Friedrich.  Second place for Female Orienteer of the Year was Beth Stevens.   The Most Improved Orienteer was Mal Huggett.  The Club Person was Alan Holland. 
The committee for 2022 was re-elected into mostly the same positions as 2021 with Greg Hancock as President. committee.

Greg Silvia OYA Female 2021

Greg Hancock and Silvia Friedrich - Orienteer of the Year - Female 2021

John co OYA 2021 Greg

John Paterson - joint winner with Adrian Watson (absent) of Orienteer of the Year - Male 2021

and Greg Hancock

Greg and Alan Club person 2021

Greg Hancock and Alan Holland - Club Person 2021


 Winners from the 2021 EP Championships

 2021 EPC A Watson G Hancock and Jason Munday

M65A and M75A winner Adrian Watson, Saltbush President Greg Hancock and course setter Jason Munday

2021 EPC Alek Sims Greg Hancock

M21AS winner Alek Sims and Saltbush President Greg Hancock

EP Relays at Coffin Bay

alek john b alan SB w B trophy

Winners of the B teams and holding the Jade trophy are Saltbush Orienteers Alek Sims (holding trophy), John Brockhurst and Alan Holland at the EP Relays at Coffin Bay on 6 June 2021.  The EP Relays is an annual interclub competition between the Saltbush and Lincoln clubs.  Lincoln won the A and C classes and secured enough points to win the overall winner trophy.


 EP Relays 21 July 2019

   Salt Creek EP Relays Rec Results incl distances

2019 EP Relays A team winners J Munday A Watson D Bergmann Pres G Hancock cln crp rsz
Saltbush A team winners - (l-r) Jason Munday, Adrian Watson, Darren Bergmann and Saltbush
President Greg Hancock
 2019 EP Relays B team winners J Laurie G Hancock J Paterson cln rsz
 Saltbush B team winners (l-r) James Laurie, Greg Hancock and John Paterson

Principal Sponsor

ORSR sagovernment 1574x422GameOnLogoplaybytheruleslogo

Other Sponsors and Supporters

snap hilton asc osoa